Nashville Film Festival Announces 2016 Feature Film Awards

Movies & Entertainment
"Nashville Film Festival Announces 2016 Feature Film Awards"

Nashville Film Festival announced the prizes in feature filmmaking at the 2016 Nashville Film Festival, with top awards going to Magallanes, SEED: The Untold Story, The Seer: A Portrait of Wendell Berry, Transpecos, Syl Johnson: Any Way the Wind Blows, The Lure and Josephine. 

Several winning films will return for encore screenings on Saturday, April 23, at Regal Green Hills Cinema in Nashville, Tenn., at the Nashville Film Festival.

The ceremony is the culmination of the 2016 festival, which represented 58 films selected for competition out of more than 1,200 submissions.
Narrative FeatureFor telling a contemporary story about the abuse of power, the struggle for gender equality, the price of silence and the grace of redemption, the Bridgestone Grand Jury Prize for Best Narrative Feature was presented to Magallanes, directed by Salvador del Solar.

Honorable Mention: Free in Deed, directed by Jake Mahaffy

Special Jury Prize – Actor: David Harewood in Free in Deed
Special Jury Prize – Actress: Dorka Gryllus in Demimonde
Special Jury Prize for Acting EnsembleMagallanes
Special Jury Prize for Screenplay: Eva Neymann for Song of Songs
Special Jury Prize for MusicThe Lure

Documentary Feature

For illuminating the beauty of our connection to the land the Documentary Competition Grand Jury Prize was presented to SEED: The Untold Story, directed by Taggart Siegel and Jon Betz.

Grand Jury Prize (tie)The Seer: A Portrait of Wendell Berry, directed by Laura Dunn

Honorable MentionThe Bandit, directed by Jesse Moss

Special Jury Prize for Badass FilmmakingHooligan Sparrow, directed by Nanfu Wang

New Director Feature

For its complex characters, use of landscape and the intensity of its ethical conflicts, the New Directors Grand Jury Prize was presented to Transpecos, directed by Greg Kwedar.

Honorable MentionThe Fits, directed by Anna Rose Holmer

Special Jury Prize – Actor: Gabriel Luna in Transpecos
Special Jury Prize – Actress: Brogan Ellis and Lauren McQueen in The Violators
Special Jury Prize for Production DesignThe Arbalest

Gibson Music Films/Music City Feature

For chronicling the rise, fall and renaissance of an R&B artist entrepreneur who never quit the hustle and finally got the recognition he deserved, the Gibson Music Films/Music City Grand Jury Prize was presented to Syl Johnson: Any Way the Wind Blows, directed by Rob Hatch-Miller.

Honorable MentionColin Hay – Waiting for My Real Life, directed by Nate Gowtham and Aaron Faulls

Special Jury Prize for Best Underdog StorySidemen: Long Road to Glory,directed by Scott Rosenbaum

Graveyard Shift Feature

For being everything from a cutting edge musical, to an emotionally faithful Hans Christian Anderson adaptation that would delight Fosse and Fassbinder equally, the Graveyard Shift Grand Jury Prize was presented to The Lure, directed by Agnieszka Smoczynska.

Honorable MentionCurtain, directed by Jaron Henrie-McCrea

Special Jury Prize – Actor: Adrian Tofei in Be My Cat: A Film for Anne
Special Jury Prize – Actress: Marta Mazurek in The Lure
Special Jury Prize for Originality and Exceptional EditingCurtain, directed by Jaron Henrie-McCrea

Tennessee First Feature

For presenting a concise, powerful portrayal of a woman in her last-ditch efforts to find her husband in the bleak final days of war, featuring incredible performances and production values, the Tennessee First Grand Jury Prize was presented to Josephine, directed by Rory Feek

Best Original Song

Winner: “Drive It Like You Stole It,” from Sing Street

Sponsored Awards

Nashville Area Hispanic Chamber of Commerce AwardMagallanes, directed by Salvador del Solar
Lipscomb Prize of the Ecumenical Jury: Best LGBT Film: Hunky Dory, directed by Michael Curtis Johnson
Steven Goldmann Visionary AwardThe Lure, directed by Agnieszka Smoczynska

Southwest Airlines Audience Awards Winners

Special PresentationsSing Street, directed by John Carney
Bridgestone Narrative Competition: (three way tie) Demimonde, directed by Attila Szász, Hunky Dory, directed by Michael Curtis Johnson and Magallanes, directed by Salvador del Solar
New Directors CompetitionTranspecos, directed by Greg Kwedar
Gibson Music Films/Music CityColin Hay – Waiting for My Real Life, directed by Nate Gowtham and Aaron Faulls
Tennessee FirstJosephine, directed by Rory Feek
Tennessee Horizon Audience Awards for Best Short:
First Place: The Saurus, directed by Drew Maynard
Second Place: The Unbeliever, directed by Will M. Holland
Third Place: Three Fingers, directed by Paul D. Hart and Everyday Yeti, directed by Motke Dapp
Fifth Place: The Van, directed by John McAmis